Art Email Scams – My Experience

Hi everybody,

after receiving for the third time a “scammy” email, I needed to write something about it, hoping that this will help other artists that came across this annoying experience.

Vintage picture of a group of women manipulated with washi tape and paper. Faces are all covered with colored tape.

Battle Royale.

I received just one email per year, the 16th of February 2014, the 5th of June 2015 and another one today, 24th of February 2016. The emails are different and have different senders names, but the content is pretty much the same:

“Do you still have – name of the artwork – available for sale as i am highly interested in it and do you accept Paypal as a mode of payment and also if pick up is acceptable, hope to read from you soon”. 

In all three cases the email object was the title of the artwork, so it was pretty easy to recognize that was a scam almost immediately. Now, all my works are on sale through official websites as Saatchi or Etsy for example, so to me it doesn’t have any sense to be contacted privately for asking to purchase them.

If this is not your case, I highly recommend you to google the email received and the name of the sender. Then it will be easy to identify them, because they send several emails to different artists within the same days, and internet is a precious source of information, especially when we are dealing with these kind of people.

I will write below the email and the sender names of the scammers, so you can be aware once you will receive the same email. I would love to update this list, just to put everything in one place and eventually create a good source for other artists. Please share your experience, the suspicious emails received and if you want, write down on a comment the email sender name, email address and content.

I will be more than happy to create a list of scammers through this post.

Update – 30 June 2016

Another of these scammers wrote on my blog with a public comment (not really smart).

Here it is the message:

My name is Jason Cloud from Washington DC. I was looking for some artwork online and i found your contact while searching. I will like to purchase some of your work for my wife as a surprise gift for our 20th anniversary.Please kindly send pics and prices of some of your art which are ready for immediate sale within price range $500- $5000, i could be flexible with price. So i will hope to hear a lot more about any available piece in your inventory ready for immediate sale.

Thanks and best regards,

Making a quick search on Google it seems that the EXACT message (the guy is an idiot) was sent to another person from Mike Evans and Chana Cohen.

Just stay alert because they periodically send the same shit to all their contacts. Please keep me updated.

Update – 7 December 2016

A new email scam is arrived, this time through my Tictail shop:

Hello Seller,

I am interested in the immediate purchase of your item which payment will be made to you via PayPal. I will like you to get back to me with you reply via my email address below, so that we can talk more better. (jamesjohnson11963@gmail.com)

Reply back to: jamesjohnson11963@gmail.com

Thanks.

If you own a Tictail shop too, just be aware that this scammer is operating there. I also received an official email from Tictail warning to not trust this account.

Update – 19 May 2017

I already wrote this info through the comments below, but it can easily get lost.

If you are UK based you can report these scams here:
http://www.actionfraud.police.uk/scam-emails

I believe that each country has this section dedicated to report online scams. Feel free to put the link of your country in the comments, I will update the list in case.

I am happy that you are actively commenting and sharing your experiences, but the best way to do something it’s to report them to the postal police. Continue to share and to comment because it’s a good way to be found from other artists on the internet, but also report to the police too.

Art Email Scams List

Jason Cloud – jasoncloud2424@gmail.com

Mike Evans – mikee2230@gmail.com

Peter Adams – petadams@live.com

Milton Fred – milfred001@live.com

Debbie Martins – debmart001@outlook.com

James Johnson – jamesjohnson11963@gmail.com

199 thoughts on “Art Email Scams – My Experience

  1. I got this one few days ago…

    susan.wright4589@outlook.com

    My name is Susan Wright from California. I was looking for some artwork online and i found your contact while searching. I will like to purchase some of your work for my Husband as a surprise gift for our 20th anniversary. Please kindly send pics and prices of some of your art which are ready for immediate sale within price range $500- $5000, i could be flexible with price. So i will hope to hear a lot more about any available piece in your inventory ready for immediate sale.

    Thanks and best regards,

    Susan.

      • I got one from this guy:

        Bill Grants
        bill.grants01@gmail.com
        Sent from IP address 197.210.28.25
        My name is Bill Grants from Snyder, Texas. I was looking for some artwork online and i found your contact while searching. I will like to purchase some of your work for my wife as a surprise gift for our 20th anniversary. Please kindly send pics and prices of some of your art which are ready for immediate sale within price range $500- $1,500. I hope to hear a lot more about any available piece in your inventory ready for immediate sale.

        Thanks and best regards,

        Bill Grants

  2. I too have been on a scam email exchange with one “Allen Nakachi” with pretty much the same MO (method of Operation). I’m so glad that someone finally put up a website of scammer names. Please continue to post these email addresses!
    I have another scam to report, and it happened in 2015, and this is how I was scammed over $500 and I spent a lot of time (and gas) running around.
    I got an email from a “Laura Wright” who had a similar MO like “Allen Nakachi”. But this is how it worked. Same lure as the “Allen” email to start things off. Then I asked for a card number to charge the purchase to. “Insufficient funds”, so I emailed back. Well, I not knowing the “game”, told them of the issue and then received another card, the persons “relative,” with the explanation that they first needed to pay off some charges so try in a week, and I did, with the same result, and another exchange of emails. Finally I got a card # of the persons “manager” who “allowed” their card to be used, I requested the info of the card holders name, phone, etc. Now these should of been a red flag (yes, da!) but I really thought I was working with someone legit and they were just having some problems, after all we all do.
    So now they asked me for shipping costs, and I went to a well known shipping company and got a price. Sent the info and then they wanted more paintings, so I get the shipping costs again and now it’s about $500 to ship. But they changed their mind and now asked for the shipping company out of Europe (with very few offices in the US)-it is a legit company. I didn’t know this company but they are on the web. They gave me an email address to work with someone from this shipping company. Their emails looked just like a typical email you get from a shipping company (I emailed them) right down to the logo, legal and procedures verbiage, -everything. So next this “shipping company person” requested that I set up a account at a local bank and do a bank transfer to set up the shipping, and a “shipper” would arrive at the gallery to pick it up.
    Then I started to get worried that something just didn’t seem right, but I didn’t know-I never tried to do this before and maybe this is just part of the way you do business with people overseas, what do I know???
    So I set up a bank account, in the same bank that the “shipping company person” has an account, and I do the transfer.
    I get home from the bank and I email the person requesting the art that the shipping has been set up and everything is now in place. They didn’t respond for a few days, so then I contacted a rep at my credit card company and discussed with them my concern. They informed me that things didn’t seem right but wouldn’t give me any definitive info or reasons, apparently requesting a validation of credit card info puts you into the “suspicion” category and they wanted to connect to fraud investigation in a way that made me feel like I was about to be investigated. So I backed off and realized I was on my own and had to figure this out. And that was the last straw.

    I decided to cancel the whole thing. I emailed the “shipping company person” and received a “email is unknown” message and my heart new I was out of $500. I looked closer at the email address and it was crafted as “CUST.SERVICE.@post.com” and my heart sank-I didn’t notice the “post.com” part…I just read the header and realized it should of at been something like “…@-CustomerService.com” or so. I was out $500. I tried emailing “Laura Wright” and never got anything back-they just disappeared into the internet void, as well as my money.
    That’s how you learn the hard way…
    This shipping company is a legit organization; but back then their wasn’t any contact information on their main website -a perfect company to use. I had to google the shipping company customer support info and had to go through a couple of website listings to actually get to it. Then after reading several pages of fraud info, I came across some warnings about fraud activity using this company-oops, too late.

    • Hi Joe,
      I am truly sorry to hear that! How disgusting is their way to approach, fake an interest in art and then scam artists!
      In UK there is a scam section to report them online (see my original post), but I believe that every country have one now. Maybe you will not have the money back, but at least you can report these criminals to the proper channel.
      Thanks again for your comment and for sharing your awful experience.

  3. I just got the same Walker Dora email:
    “Greetings,
    My name is Walker Dora from Oregon.. I actually observed my wife has been viewing your website on my laptop and i guess she likes your piece of work, I’m also impressed and amazed to have seen your various works too,You are doing a great job. I would like to receive further information about your piece of work and what inspires you.. Kindly confirm the availability for immediate sales..
    Thanks and best regards..”

    This clown’s email is walkerdor4@gmail.com.I wish there was a way to shut these people down.

  4. Hi,
    I got an email from Debbie Martins today:

    (Do you still have The Floating detail available for sale as i am highly interested in it and do you accept Paypal as a mode of payment and also if pick up is acceptable, hope to read from you soon.)

    After searching his email adress and his name i found ur article and that helped me a lot.
    thank you

  5. So glad I found this site! This was sent to me today…apparently “Bill Jack” has moved to Ohio….I’m going to share your site on my FB page to alert my art friends!

    Christine Dion

    From:
    bill
    billjack2230@gmail.com

    Subject:
    artwork is needed

    Message:
    Hello There,

    My name is Bill Jack from Ohio. I actually observed my wife has been viewing your website on my laptop and i guess she likes your piece of work. I’m also impressed and amazed to have seen your various works too, You are doing a great job. I would like to purchase one of your piece as a surprise to my wife on our anniversary. Also, let me know if you accept check as mode of Payment.

    Thanks and best regards.

    Bill

  6. I received this email with the same request. I asked him to call me and he called from a (708) 441-3706. We are an art publisher, so we represent several artists. I asked him which artist he would like more information about and he said that he did not know. I asked where he learned about the art and he said that he found my email somewhere and to just send information. I texted him back with no reply and then before sending several artwork samples I googled his email and came across your blog and realized it is a scam.

    Alex Castillo
    Jul 6 (3 days ago)
    Reply
    to bcc: alanjsmith
    Greetings,

    Please I am interested in getting my darling wife one of your piece of work as a surprise gift for our 20th anniversary. It would be greatly appreciated if you can send pics and prices of your some available works ready for immediate sale within price range $1000-$5000 (i could be flexible with price). So i will hope to hear a lot more about any available piece in your inventory ready for immediate sale.

    Thanks and best regards,
    Alex.

  7. LOL just happened to us too! They are pretty easy to spot! But just in case this is EXACTLY what we recvd today:
    Submission from ‘contact us’ form:

    Name :
    walker dora
    Email :
    walkerdor4@gmail.com
    Message :
    Greetings,
    My name is Walker Dora from Oregon.. I actually observed my wife has been viewing your website on my laptop and i guess she likes your piece of work, I\’m also impressed and amazed to have seen your various works too,You are doing a great job. I would like to receive further information about your piece of work and what inspires you.. Kindly confirm the availability for immediate sales..
    Thanks and best regards..
    Submit :
    Submit

  8. I received the same message from: jamesjohnson11963@gmail.com but on the Storenvy Marketplace.
    I responded with a simple “let me know what questions I can answer for you, to which he sent:

    “How are you doing there and i am very happy to hear back from you, well i will like to ask you the following questions.
    Are you the real owner?
    What is the present condition?
    How much is the final asking price?
    Do you have PayPal ID which payment can be make?
    Where is the exact location for the pick up?
    I will be glad to hear back from you. I have a shipper that will come over for the pick up, so you don’t needs to bother of the shipment, just let me know the pick up location so that I can make and inquiry with the pick up agent to know how much it will cost me for the pick up….I will be waiting to hear back from you as soon as possible…”

    I was really glad to find this list of postings when I googled his email. Thanks!
    -Karey
    Aspenkid Fibers

  9. Thanks for sharing. I just got a very similar email from Walker Dora (walkerdor4@gmail.com) 7/23. Thank your for sharing and not letting me waist my time.

    thanks
    Marz

    Greetings,
    My name is Walker Dora from Oregon.. I actually observed my wife has been viewing your website on my laptop and i guess she likes your piece of work, I’m also impressed and amazed to have seen your various works too,You are doing a great job. I would like to receive further information about your piece of work and what inspires you.. Kindly confirm the availability for immediate sales..
    Thanks and best regards..

    Then a follow up…

    Hello,
    Thanks for getting back to me, it could be any color, but medium size or large.. However, I would greatly appreciate if you could possibly recommend a few completed piece within $1000- $15,000 ready for sale…Please do email me back with images and prices of any available works in that range
    Thank You,

  10. I received this one today. Found a similar one here. Thank you.

    Scott Wilfrey
    12:53 AM (15 hours ago)

    to bcc: me
    My name is Scott Wilfrey from Snyder, Texas. I was looking for some artwork online and i found your contact while searching. I will like to purchase some of your work for my wife as a surprise gift for our 20th anniversary. Please kindly send pics and prices of some of your art which are ready for immediate sale within price range $500- $1,500. I hope to hear a lot more about any available piece in your inventory ready for immediate sale.

    Thanks and best regards,

    Scott.

  11. Hi there, thanks for sharing your experience! It saved me from a lot of wasted time…

    I just got this today….

    Hello,

    My name is Jett Jackson from Brooklyn, New York. I was looking for some artwork online and i found your contact while searching. Will like to purchase some of your work for my wife as a surprise gift for our 20th anniversary.Please kindly send pics and prices of some of your art which are ready for immediate sale within price range $300- $3,500, i could be flexible with price. So i will hope to hear a lot more about any available piece in your inventory ready for immediate sale.

    Thanks and best regards,
    Jett Jackson

  12. I received this recently from email: chrissi_rubin_00@subr.edu
    “My name is Jett Jackson from Brooklyn, New York. I was looking for some artwork online and i found your contact while searching. Will like to purchase some of your work for my wife as a surprise gift for our 20th anniversary.Please kindly send pics and prices of some of your art which are ready for immediate sale within price range $300- $3,500, i could be flexible with price. So i will hope to hear a lot more about any available piece in your inventory ready for immediate sale.”

  13. Hi! Thank you for your blog. Just keeping you updated as I just received a scam my email which is -word for word – the same as your email from Mr. Cloud above. This one is from “Bill Grants” from Snyder, TX and the subject line is INQUIRY FOR PAINTINGS!!..!! (Otherwise, word for word)

    This person’s email address is bill.grants01@gmail.com and FYI, I was BCC’d

  14. Hi,
    I have just received an email, that’s said :
    “Hello,

    My name is Jett Jackson from Brooklyn, New York. I was looking for some artwork online and i found your contact while searching. Will like to purchase some of your work for my wife as a surprise gift for our 20th anniversary.Please kindly send pics and prices of some of your art which are ready for immediate sale within price range $300- $3,500, i could be flexible with price. So i will hope to hear a lot more about any available piece in your inventory ready for immediate sale.

    Thanks and best regards,
    Jett Jackson”
    Thanks for your page!

  15. Hi I just received this email from aarongeorgea1@gmail.com. Hope it helps someone. Take care.
    “Hello There,
    My name is Aaron George from California. I actually observed my wife has been viewing your website on my laptop and i guess she likes your piece of work. I’m also impressed and amazed to have seen your various works too, You are doing a great job. I would like to purchase one of your figures “Green Car, oil, 30″ x 40″, as a surprise to my wife on our anniversary. Also, let me know if you accept check as mode of payment.

    Thanks and best regards”

  16. I almost fell for this scam. It sounded like some of my foreign clients. I have shipped to wonderful clients in Australia and Great Britain and other international locations. So the poor english was not a clue. But when he wanted to send me a large check and for me to pay the “shipping agent” out of the proceeds after cashing… a huge red flag began to wave in my mind! Scam-scam-scam…. There are a lot of cold hearted criminal bunko artists online. Hahaha…. the email sent to me was almost exactly as reported above except the man’s name was Walker Dora. Obviously they use many aliases.

  17. In my Inbox Oct 21st 2017

    “My name is William Elizondo from Washington,DC. I was looking for some artwork online and i found your contact while searching. I will like to purchase some of your work for my wife as a surprise gift for our 20th anniversary. Please kindly send pics and prices of some of your art which are ready for immediate sale within price range $500- $5000. I hope to hear a lot more about any available piece in your inventory ready for immediate sale.

    Thanks and best regards,

    William”

    scam.

Leave a Reply

